top of page
Search
  • sharonbergauthor

The Paper Trail: Writing

The paper trail concerns all authors. Since I retired from teaching in 2016 I have focused on my own paper trail through the four books (see below) that I published. I also put out two chapbooks which are now long out-of-print. It is amazing what you can produce when you are focused on your writing.


I am a Canadian author living in the tiny hamlet of Charlottetown, NL, Canada. There are just 205 people in my community on the eastern coast. It is isolated. I need to drive 40 minutes south on the TransCanada when I want to stock up on groceries in Clarenville, or 25 minutes north to visit a small grocery store in Glovertown. There is a convenience store bout 5 minutes walk from my home but it mainly offers me eggs and milk.

So how do I maintain my connection to the broader literary world within Canada? you ask. My answer is through author interviews and hosting authors at my Oceanview Writers Retreat. I have a truly beautiful home with a view of Clode Sound from my living room window. In fact, it's too pretty not to share it with others who can appreciate the Sharon Berg (photo by Tyler James) gift we receive by living in this gorgeous spot that several of my neighbours have dared to describe as 'a corner of God's painting'. You have to visit to fully appreciate it.


So what has this place provided me with since I left the hustle and bustle of cities in Ontario for the isolation in a rural Newfoundland port? I feel welcomed by one of the friendliest communities you could imagine, and I've been able to focus on my writing in a way that surpasses my hopes. Not only have I been able to finish the first draft and several revisions of a novel, but I have gathered a second collection of short fiction and pulled together a fourth book of poetry. My work includes poetry, fiction, and various nonfiction projects. In addition to my prior credits of being published in Canada, the USA, Mexico, Wales, India, and Australia, I have added England, Singapore, and Germany to the countries where my work appears since I arrived in Newfoundland.


I also began my focus on interviewing other Canadian authors by delivering two each month through the online journal Artisanal Writer for 19 issues. Then I went on to place interviews in Event and Freefall magazine, before landing many more interviews in The /tEmz/ Review and The Miramichi Reader. And my Oceanview Writers Retreat saw me host five visitors to Newfoundland's eastern coast, including: poet Susan Zimmerman and her sister Cindy Zimmerman, poets Rene Sgroi and Jenny Sorensen, and poet Ryan Gibbs, all of whom enjoyed visiting either Bonavista or Trinity to do sea excursions for whale sightings.

Future Posts

As I am restarting my blog, it goes without saying that I intend to write posts to focus on things of concern not only for myself but for all authors. However, I want to offer something to the writing community at large, an advantage of sorts, if I can. I've found it to be mutually beneficial to conduct author interviews, so I think I'll likely post several interviews with Canadian writers and perhaps some book reviews on my blog. Of course, I'll also share news from my community of Charlottetown. In addition I'll share news of the various writerly projects I am engaged with, such as working on a collection of stories written by my brother Brian Purdy as his Editor/Agent, or a future collection of poetry - mine or his. For instance, his first full collection since 1977 is due from Pottersfield Press in September 2023. Later on, you will here more about my invitation to be a juror for a writing contest. You might even hear news that I am releasing another book, though for the moment my fingers are crossed.

A Closing Message

So, if you are you someone who looks forward to being interviewed, or you're a person who's curious about something to do with the pursuit of writing and you want my opinion, you can leave me a message. In the meanwhile, do take care and keep on writing and reading!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page