top of page
Search
  • sharonbergauthor

Where the Caplin Roll

I decided months before I moved from Ontario to Newfoundland that I would open my home as a Writers Retreat. Living where I was in Ontario, the isolation during the pandemic was stifling, especially because my neighbourhood had changed for the worse soon after I moved there. I knew that wherever I ended up, I wanted a water view, but I never could have predicted the beauty of the place I ended up purchasing. It was almost perfect, and I am doing what I can to improve upon it.


My abode is in the tiny community of about 260 people called Charlottetown. I am not talking about the capital of PEI, or the place in Labrador either. This is a village in the middle of Terra Nova National Park, which has 19 nature trails ranging in size from a 3.2 km loop to a 23 km journey each way. There are several lovely tourist spots to visit for day trips, as well, such as Eastport or Trinity (which is on the way to Bonavista). Below are a few pictures to give you an idea of my exact location.




Visitors can either drive here, taking the night ferry from North Sydney, Nova Scotia to Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and then following the Trans Canada Highway across the island, or they can fly in to the Gander Airport and I will pick them up and return them to the airport for a fee.


The Oceanview Writers Retreat is easy to find by following the same highway turn off road to Charlottetown. It is perched on a hill above the Sound, right behind the wharf. This place has gigantic windows in the living and dining rooms to take in the views and the sun. There is a comfortable deck built at the back of the house, also overlooking the Sound. I can accommodate either single bookings or groups of up to three authors at a time. The options available are: a single room on the main floor or a shared room on the lower floor. The single room has a lovely view of Clode Sound, a queen bed, a closet, and a desk. The shared room has two double beds, an armoire, and a desk for each person. The lower floor has the advantage of a second sitting room with a small kitchenette area and washroom just outside its door.


Covid caused a false start announcement, earlier this year. That was disappointing, as was the start of the renovations. But I am really excited about the prospect of opening my Retreat earlier than expected. I won't say exactly when, but I am hoping to have a big announcement to make (with lots of pictures of the Retreat and available rooms) sometime in August. As the tourism ads for Newfoundland are saying, why not visit your backyard? My movers were from New Brunswick, but even they vowed to return after moving me to the island. The views are spectacular!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page